Home  |  News  |  Events  |  Contact
Meet the people involved in our faith community.
Learn what it means to be a Catholic.
Our parishes, schools, ministries, and centers.
The services we provide and ways to get involved.


Twenty-eight Honored by the Equestrian Order of the Holy Sepulchre

larger font

In a ceremony on March 12th at Saint Michael the Archangel Church, sixteen Knights and twelve Ladies from the Diocese of Raleigh were recognized by the Conferral of Scrolls within the celebration of Solemn Vespers. Reverend Monsignor David D. Brockman, Vicar General of the Diocese and John Carmen Piunno, Lieutenant, Middle Atlantic Lieutenancy, presided over the vigil.

The Equestrian Order of the Holy Sepulchre of Jerusalem was established in 1099 to guard the tomb of Jesus in Jerusalem. It has evolved into a society with the mission of sustaining and assisting the religious, spiritual, charitable and social works of the Church in the Holy Land; and on serving and propagating the faith and the rights of the Church there.

“In days gone by, those who did battle for Christ spent the night in prayer before the altar,” Piunno said. “In remembrance of their splendid example, we have gathered today at this vigil to promise to serve the Lord Jesus Christ loyally and faithfully as becomes true Knights and Ladies all the days of our lives.”

The Equestrian Order, the only Order of Chivalry under the protection of the Holy See, is considered one of the highest papal honors conferred on clergy and laity. Only practicing Catholics approved by their Bishop and Pastor may become members. Candidates promise to live an upright Christian life in accordance with the commandments of God and the precepts of the Catholic Church.

Twenty eight Knights and Ladies were recipients of the Scrolls including Very Reverend James Francis Garneau, V.F., Pastor of Saint Mary Church in Mount Olive. The Scrolls, written in Latin, are prepared in Rome and are proof of admission into the Order. The Scrolls are signed by the Grand Master, Cardinal John Patrick Foley, and countersigned by the Assessor of the Secretary of State of the Holy See.

The new Scroll recipients were:


  • Very Reverend James Francis Garneau, V.F. 
  • Mark Joseph Baric
  • Alvin Coleman Blalock III
  • Mark Edwin Dunham
  • Richard Wright Friedewald
  • William Van de Graaff Krebs
  • Thomas Frances Looney
  • James Anthony Ludwiczak
  • William Robert Lundrigan
  • Charles Constantine Scott
  • Curtis Howard Stiles, Jr.
  • John David Szymeczek
  • Lewin Scott Warren
  • William Cornell Weiss
  • Robert Baynes Whittaker, Jr.
  • David Allen Wulf


  • Janice Marie Baric
  • Catherine Bahen Blalock
  • Barbara Jean Vinkler Bodner
  • Mary Anne Dunham
  • Jean Louise Fucella
  • Ina Frances Cox Krebs
  • Lucy Anne Looney
  • Kathleen Ann Ludwiczak
  • Sonja Michelle Szymeczek
  • Harriet Coats Warren
  • Mary Lynn Whittaker
  • Linda Lee Wulf

Also present for the Conferral were several Knights and Ladies who had received Scrolls in previous years.

Above: Newly conferred Knights and Ladies of the Equestrian Order of the Holy Sepulchre with Msgr. David D. Brockman, Vicar General of the Diocese of Raleigh.