Home  |  News  |  Events  |  Contact
Meet the people involved in our faith community.
Learn what it means to be a Catholic.
Our parishes, schools, ministries, and centers.
The services we provide and ways to get involved.


Catholic Charities Adds Six Members to Board

larger font

Catholic Charities of the Diocese of Raleigh has welcomed six new board members during a recent meeting of its Board of Directors. The Most Reverend Michael F. Burbidge, Bishop of the Catholic Diocese of Raleigh, installed the new board members at a Mass preceding the meeting.

The new board members are:

  • David Blain, New Bern
  • Kathy Johnson, Raleigh
  • Mary Keesee, Hampstead
  • Christopher Kelley, Nags Head
  • Geraldine Madden, Raleigh
  • William Speas, Oriental

The six individuals join a diverse Board of Directors comprising John Keller of Knightdale (Chair), Patricia O’Connell of Goldsboro (Vice Chair), Germaine Angel Daly of Pinehurst, Kathleen DeRubio of Raleigh, Glenn Gillen of Durham, Edward Grace of Wilmington, Mercedes Hernandez-Pelletier of Willow Springs, William LaPorte of Raleigh, Charles Lorelli of Chapel Hill, Reginald Ross-Weeks of Raleigh, Mary Reca Todd of Raleigh and Johnnie Winters of Fayetteville.

“We are very pleased to have these new board members join us and look forward to their contributions to our organization,” said Kathleen Walsh, ACSW, Diocesan Director of Catholic Charities of the Diocese of Raleigh.

Catholic Charities serves the people of Eastern North Carolina. It has a rich tradition in North Carolina dating back more than 100 years of providing a wide range of services. All programs are available to individuals and families regardless of race, creed, religion or ability to pay through seven regional offices. Last year, seven regional offices and additional community outreach locations touched the lives of more than 54,000 individuals. For more information, call 919-821-9750 or visit www.dioceseofraleigh.org/how/social/.

Above: Bishop Michael F. Burbidge with new members of Catholic Charities Board of Directors. Left to right: Kathy Johnson, William Spears, Bishop Burbidge, Christopher Kelley, Geraldine Madden, Mary Keese, and David Blain.