Home  |  News  |  Events  |  Contact
Meet the people involved in our faith community.
Learn what it means to be a Catholic.
Our parishes, schools, ministries, and centers.
The services we provide and ways to get involved.


St. Egbert Principal Retires After 32 Years

larger font

On May 27th, with the Most Reverend Michael F. Burbidge in attendance, Saint Egbert Parish in Morehead City honored Mrs. Lesley Ferguson, who is retiring after 32 years as Principal of Saint Egbert Catholic School. Mrs. Ferguson is believed to be the first lay principal in the school system of the Diocese of Raleigh.

Pastor Fr. Doug Smiley celebrated a Mass of Thanksgiving for a congregation of students, former students, their parents, faculty, former faculty and longtime supporters of the K-6 school, as well as Mrs. Ferguson, her husband, their children and grandchildren. Concelebrating were former pastors Fr. Gregory Spencer and Msgr. Francis Moeslein, in addition to Msgr. Gerald L. Lewis. In 2002 Mrs. Ferguson became the second recipient of the Gerald L. Lewis Award for Lifetime Achievement in Catholic Education.

Both Fr. Smiley in his homily and Bishop Burbidge in his remarks at the end of Mass offered profound thanks for Mrs. Ferguson’s years of dedication and excellence in directing the spiritual and academic education of so many children. At a reception following the Mass, Saint Egbert schoolchildren sang for Mrs. Ferguson and presented her with gifts. The Principal called her years at the school “a wonderful gift from God.”

Dr. Michael J. Fedewa, Diocesan Superintendent of Catholic Formation and Education, described Mrs. Ferguson as “a wonderful witness to the vocation of Catholic education. She has given selflessly to the Saint Egbert community without hesitation, and her dedicated commitment has served as a role model for her peers. We wish her well as she moves to the next phase of her life.”

Above: (left to right) Most Reverend Michael F. Burbidge, Bishop of Raleigh; Msgr. Francis Moeslein; Dr. Michael J. Fedewa, Diocesan Superintendent of Catholic Formation and Education; Fr. Gregory Spencer; Mrs. Lesley Ferguson; Dr. Randy Ferguson; Fr. Doug Smiley, Pastor of St.Egbert; Msgr. Gerald L. Lewis.