Home  |  News  |  Events  |  Contact
Meet the people involved in our faith community.
Learn what it means to be a Catholic.
Our parishes, schools, ministries, and centers.
The services we provide and ways to get involved.


Council of Women Religious Officers Installed

larger font

The Most Reverend Michael F. Burbidge conducted an installation ceremony October 20, 2011, for officers of the Council of Women Religious in the Diocese of Raleigh. Sr. Barbara Marie Cady, SU, has been elected to another term as Chair. Sr. Lois MacGillivray, SNJM, is Vice-Chair; Sr. Mary Jean Korejwo, SND, is Secretary; and Sr. Mary Agnes Ryan, IHM, is Treasurer.

Sr. Barbara Marie is in her 24th year of ministry in the Diocese, currently serving as Pastoral Associate at Infant of Prague Church in Jacksonville. Sr. Lois first arrived in the Diocese in 1969. Her work involves evaluating social programs that serve the poor and underrepresented groups. Sr. Mary Jean came to the Diocese in 1994 assigned to Cardinal Gibbons High School, where she has worked as a teacher, in the Development Office and currently in the Business Office. Sr. Mary Agnes is in her fourth year of ministry in the Diocese. She serves as Pastoral Associate at Our Lady of Lourdes Church in Raleigh and as an assistant in the Office of Divine Worship.

The Council of Women Religious works with and for the women Religious in the Diocese, promoting spiritual, communal, and professional development, and provides counsel to the Bishop. Their goals include promoting Vocations and Vocation Awareness and coordinating the annual Mass of Thanksgiving in Celebration of Consecrated Life, at which time Religious marking jubilee anniversaries are recognized.

Currently, there are 49 women Religious representing 21 Religious congregations present in the Diocese.

Information on the Council of Women Religious, including Religious Orders serving in the Diocese and information on the Orders, is available at http://www.raleighcouncilofreligious.org.

Above: Bishop Michael F. Burbidge with officers of Council of Women Religious: Sr. Lois MacGillivray, SNJM; Sr. Mary Agnes Ryan, IHM; Bishop Burbidge; Sr. Barbara Marie Cady, SU; and Sr. Mary Jean Korejwo, SND.