Home  |  News  |  Events  |  Contact
Meet the people involved in our faith community.
Learn what it means to be a Catholic.
Our parishes, schools, ministries, and centers.



larger font

News and Announcements 

2014 Deacon Ordination

Congratulations to Rev. Mr. Robert L. Bridwell, Rev. Mr. Gerardo Chávez, Rev. Mr. Louis P. Clark, Rev. Mr. Edwin Jeffress Jolly, Rev. Mr. David W. Kierski, Rev. Mr. James A. Marapoti, Rev. Mr. Louis Vincent Parente, Rev. Mr. Brian J. Phillips, Rev. Mr. Arthur C. Schneider, Jr., Rev. Mr. James R. Strange, Jr., Rev. Mr. Robert E. Troy, Jr., Rev. Mr. Michael D. Vandiver, Rev. Mr. John R. Wetsch, and Rev. Mr. Charles E. Zlamal who were ordained to the Order of Deacon on Saturday, June 28, 2014 by the Most Reverend Michael F. Burbidge during a Mass celebrated at Saint Michael the Archangel in Cary, after completing a five year program of deacon formation. Forty priests concelebrated the Mass, including Rev. Msgr. David D. Brockman, Vicar General, and Very Rev. James F. Garneau, V.F., Director of the Diocesan Diaconate program. Click photo below to view larger.

Discernment Day

On Saturday, September 27 and Saturday, October 4, 2014, there will be a discernment day for the Permanent Diaconate at St. Mary of the Angels Catholic Church in Mount Olive, NC from 9am-noon, both days. Catholic men and their wives (if applicable) who are at least 35 years of age and considering a vocation to the Permanent Diaconate are invited. These meetings are mandatory for those interested in beginning a diaconate formation program in 2015. Following these two meetings, there will be a mandatory Day of Recollection on Saturday, November 8 from 9am-5pm. For more information and to complete a preliminary application, if you haven't already done so, please contact Deacon Félix Sáez, Jr., Assistant Director of the Office of the Permanent Diaconate for the Diocese of Raleigh, at felix.saez@raldioc.org or 919.658.4023. 

Deacon Community Board

We would like to thank Deacon Jorge Rodríguez, Deacon William Cortright, and Mrs. Mary Ellen Cortright (deceased) for their past service on the Deacon Community Board. A warm welcome to the new members appointed by Bishop Michael Burbidge: Deacon Gustavo Castro-Reynoso, Deacon Mark Westrick, and Dr. Mary Gabriel. Other board members include: Deacon Wally Calabrese, Deacon Rick Fisher, Deacon Pius Gabriel, Deacon Frank Jones, Deacon Emilio Mejía, and Mrs. Anna Rzewnicki.  

Office Staff

Deacon Felix Saez, Jr. is the assistant director for the Office of the Permanent Diaconate, and Mrs. Amy Breindel is the secretary for the Office of the Permanent Diaconate. You can contact either of them at (919) 658-4023. 

As of July 8, 2008, Fr. James F. Garneau was appointed Director of the Office of the Permanant Diaconate. The offices have been relocated to Mount Olive, NC.

Deacons, by William T. Ditewig - A helpful resource for those who have questions about the diaconate



Director, Office of the Permanent Diaconate
Very Reverend James F. Garneau, V.F., Ph.D.
St. Mary Catholic Church
P.O. Box 1145
Mount Olive, NC 28365
(919) 658-4023

Assistant Director, Office of the Permanent Diaconate
Saint Mary Parish

Deacon Felix Sáez, Jr.
(919) 658-4023

Office Secretary
Mrs. Amy J. Breindel
(919) 658-4023