Skip to main content

Religious Communities

From the very infancy of the Church, there have existed men and women who strove to follow Christ more freely and imitate Him more nearly by the practice of the evangelical counsels; the perfection of charity through the practice and profession of chastity in celibacy, poverty and obedience.Each one, in his or her own way, led a life dedicated to God. Under the influence of the Holy Spirit, some pursued a solitary life or founded religious families to which the Church willingly gave welcome and approval.

And so it happened by divine plan that a wonderful variety of religious communities grew up. The variety contributed toward making the Church experienced in every good deed and ready for a ministry of service. A life consecrated by a profession of the counsels is of surpassing value and has a necessary role to play in the present age. - Decree on the Appropriate Renewal of Religious Life

Religious Communities of Women

Sixty-four women religious representing 22 religious communities serve in the Diocese of Raleigh. These religious sisters are engaged in teaching, social work, immigration law, child care, community development, missionary outreach programs, and Hispanic ministry. Eight of these women religious are engaged directly in pastoral ministry caring for the faithful in eight parishes. The communities represented are:

  • Congregation of the Sisters of St. Louis
  • Congregation of the Sisters of St. Agnes
  • Daughters of Charity of St. Vincent de Paul
  • Daughters of the Blessed Mary of Guadalupe 
  • Daughters of Wisdom
  • Dominican Congregation of St. Catherine of DeRicci
  • Dominicans of the Most Holy Rosary of Adrian, Michigan
  • Missionary Sisters of St. Columan
  • Mission Helpers of the Sacred Heart
  • Sisters of Notre Dame of Chardon, Ohio
  • Sisters, Senvants of the Immaculate Heart of Mary
  • Sisters of Mercy of Merion, Pennsylvania
  • Sisters of St. Francis of Sylvannia, Ohio
  • Sisters of St. Joseph
  • Sisters of Divine Providence
  • Society of Sisters, Faithful Companions of Jesus
  • Sisters of St. Francis of Philadelphia
  • Sisters of St. Ursula
  • Sisters of the Holy Cross
  • Sisters of St. Mary of Guadalupe
  • Sisters of St. Joseph of Chestnut Hill
  • Sisters of Providence
  • Sisters of St. Joseph of St. Mark
  • Sisters of the Immaculate Heart of Mary, Immaculata 

Religious Communities of Men

There are 47 male religious serving the Diocese of Raleigh. These men represent 11 religious communities. They are engaged in Hispanic Ministry, preaching, social work, and teaching. To learn more about a particular community, please click on the name of the community to view their website.